MIRARCO Overview

MIRARCO, or Mining Innovation, Rehabilitation, and Applied Research Corporation, has been providing innovative solutions for mining industry challenges since our inception in 1998. We are a not-for-profit research arm of Laurentian University, Canada’s Mining University.
Our team of talented academic and industry professionals offer the expertise you need for applied research in: Rock Mechanics, Safety, Software, and Energy.

MIRARCO is engaged in four core research domains:

Our Mission

We are the innovative research partner of choice for mining and related industries.

Our Vision

A research organization that develops innovative technologies, applied solutions, and highly qualified individuals in support of a safe, productive, and sustainable global mining industry.

Our Values

Innovation, Collaboration, Responsiveness, and Social Responsibility.


Board of Directors

  • Dominic Fragomeni*
    XPS Consulting & Testwork
  • Jennifer Abols
    President/CEO, MIRARCO
  • Osman Abou-Rabia
    Dean of Science, Engineering and Architechture
    Laurentian University
  • Michelle Ash
    Chair GMG and CEO GEOVIA Dassault Systems
  • Fred Delabbio
    Director, Strategy Focused Innovation (SFI)
  • Samantha Espley
    President, Canadian Institute of Mining (CIM)
  • Elizabeth Gardiner
    Project and Communications Advisor at NOAMI
  • Leo Gerard
    International President, USW
  • Michael Gribbons
    Vice President at Maestro Digital Mine
  • Lorella Hayes
    VP Administration, Laurentian University
  • Christine Kaszycki
    Assistant Deputy Minister, Mines Minerals Division, MNDM
  • Cheryl Recollet
    Director of Sustainable Development, Wahnapitae First Nation
  • James Simmons
    Weaver Simmons
  • Michael O’Shaughnessy
    Director, Teck Resources
  • Janice Zinck
    Green Mining Innovation – Processing Canmet MINING NRCan

* Chair of the MIRARCO Board of Directors.